A DUI Conviction Carries Serious Penalties

If you are convicted of a first DUI offense or first refusal to take a Breathalyzer test in Tennessee, you can expect the following things to happen:

  • You will serve a minimum of 48 hours in jail.
  • Your driver's license will be revoked for one year. (You may obtain a restricted license.)
  • You will pay a fine of $350 to $1,500.
  • You will serve 11 months of probation.
  • You will have to participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program.
  • You will have a DUI conviction on your record forever.

If you have prior DUI convictions, the penalties are harsher. To protect your driver's license and your future, call The Law Office of Massey McClusky McClusky & Fuchs in Memphis as soon as possible. We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case.

Protecting You From Long-Term Consequences

As harsh as the immediate penalties may be, the long-term consequences of a DUI conviction are even more serious. After the state restores your driving privileges, you will have to pay driver's license reinstatement fees and SR-22 high-risk auto insurance premiums. According to the Tennessee Department of Safety & Homeland Security, the total cost of a DUI conviction can add up to $4,900 or more.

In an age of background checks, you do not want to have a conviction for drunk driving on your record. If you are a professional, your employer could question your judgment. If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL), a DUI conviction is a career killer.

In any DUI/DWI case, there are many ways you can avoid harsh penalties. However, you have one chance to hire the right defense attorney. Make the most of that chance by hiring The Law Office of Massey McClusky McClusky & Fuchs in Memphis.

Contact Us About Your Case

Your initial consultation with our lawyer is free. We can conduct it at the jail or police station, if necessary. Contact us online, call us locally in Memphis at 901-201-6747 or toll free at 888-341-4226.