View Our Practice Areas

What are the laws regarding DUI in Tennessee?


In the state of Tennessee, driving under the influence is a serious offense. Those who are convicted of the crime could face hefty fines, jail time and license revocation. So what are the laws regarding DUI in Tennessee?

Anyone who has a blood alcohol level or BAC of more than 0.08 percent could be charged with a DUI. If a person has a BAC over 0.20, they could face additional and more serious penalties.

A person who is arrested for a first time DUI will face 48 hours of mandatory jail time. If their BAC was more than 0.20, the mandatory jail time is 7 days. A person who is convicted of a DUI can face up to 11 months and 29 days of jail, license revocation and fines. Attendance at an alcohol treatment program will also be required.

A second time DUI offender faces even more penalties. There is a minimum of 45 days in jail, license revocation for 2 years and thousands of dollars in fines. When a driver's license is returned to a driver convicted of a second DUI, it will have restrictions regarding where a person can drive. A vehicle interlock system might also be installed.

A third DUI conviction could include 120 days in jail, up to a $10,000 fine and license revocation of up to 10 years with no chance of getting a restricted license during the time of revocation.

The State of Tennessee clearly takes a DUI charge seriously. If a person is facing a DUI, they may want to speak with a legal professional skilled in criminal defense. Navigating a drunk driving charge can be complex and can difficult for defendants to determine ways to mitigate the charges. A legal criminal defense could help drivers reduce or dismiss some or all of the charges against them.

Source: Findlaw.com, "What are the Tennessee DUI laws?", access on May 17, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Get Help Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Location:

The Law Office of Massey McClusky McClusky & Fuchs
3074 East Road
Memphis, TN 38128

Toll Free: 888-341-4226
Phone: 901-201-6747
Fax: 901-937-8004
Memphis Law Office Map

  • Best lawyers | Linking Lawyers and Clients Worldwide
  • NACDL | National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers | 1958
  • Super Lawyers
  • TACDL | wherever justice demands
  • Americas Top 100 Criminal Defense Attorneys | 2018 | Top 100
  • Best Lawyers | Best Law Firms | U.S.News 2015
  • Best Lawyers | Best Law Firms | U.S.News 2018
  • Best Lawyers | Best Law Firms | U.S.News 2019
VISA | Master Card | American Express | Discover Network | Paypal