Those who make the mistake of driving while under the influence in Tennessee know that they could potentially face serious consequences. Drunk driving is not tolerated by the public or law enforcement, and a conviction can lead to long-term consequences. In addition to the penalties faced for the drunk driving conviction, Tennessee also has a look-back period for prior offenses.
In Tennessee a person convicted of drunk driving for the first time faces many penalties. This often includes incarceration for 48 hours up to 11 months in jail, 1 year license revocation, alcohol and drug rehab, $350-$1500 fine and even more.
Tennessee also has a look-back policy, which means that an individual could face additional charges if they have multiple offenses in a 10-year period. The penalties for a second DUI offense include a minimum jail sentence of 45 days up to 11 months, $600-$3500 fine, 2 year license revocation and alcohol and drug treatment program.
Three drunk driving offenses in 10 years has a minimum of 120 days in jail, $1,100 to $10,000 in fines, license revocation for 6 to 10 years and alcohol and drug treatment program. A fourth conviction is considered a felony and includes 1 year in prison, $3,000 to $15,000 in fines, license revocation for 8 years and an alcohol and drug treatment program.
A defendant facing a drunk driving charge may want to speak with a legal professional skilled in criminal defense. An attorney can be an important tool in protecting his or her future against the penalties that a DUI charge could bring. In addition to the embarrassment a DUI charge brings, a person could face high fines, jail time and license revocation, which could greatly impact the accused’s personal and professional life.
Source: tn.gov, “DUI offenses,” accessed on June 22, 2015