Some residents in Tennessee may have engaged in the use of marijuana at least once in his or her life. While marijuana may seem harmless – with the states such as Colorado even legalizing recreational use – in the state of Tennessee it is still an illegal drug. A person who is convicted of drug charges may face harsh penalties that amount to prison time, fines and a ruined personal and professional reputation. This is a brief overview of marijuana laws in Tennessee.
Marijuana is considered a Schedule VI drug. Possession of less than 5 ounces of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor. A person convicted of the misdemeanor faces drug education school and a $250 fine. If there is an exchange between an adult and a minor then the convicted could result in a felony charge. The accused could also face a felony if they have two or more prior convictions involving marijuana.
Growing up to a half of an ounce can lead to one year in jail and a $2500 fine. More than half of an ounce but less than 10 pounds could carry a fine of $5,000 and 1 to 6 years in prison. The fines and jail time increase with amount grown up to manufacturing more than 300 pounds of marijuana. Those convicted could face a $500,000 fine and 15 to 60 years in prison.
A person who is facing a marijuana drug charge may want to speak with a legal professional skilled in criminal defense. The penalties for marijuana possession or manufacturing can be severe, making it important for a defendant to make a criminal legal defense.
Source: Findlaw.com, “Tennessee marijuana laws“, accessed on June 13, 2015