Driving under influence (DUI) is a very serious offense no matter where you are, and the severity of the punishment following a conviction tends to increase depending on the number of previous convictions. Like in other states, a first DUI offense is treated differently from the subsequent ones.
In Tennessee, an individual is considered a repeat offender if they are convicted for driving under the influence more than once within 10 years.
Penalties for a second DUI conviction in Tennessee
As already indicated, you will be subjected to harsher penalties under the state’s laws if you are found guilty of subsequent DUI offenses. These include:
- Between 45 days and 11 months and 29 days of prison time
- A revocation of the driver’s license for up to 2 years with the option of getting a restricted license
- A mandatory fine amounting to between $600 to $3,500
- Mandatory drug and alcohol therapy lessons
- An installation of an ignition interlock device on the vehicle at the convict’s cost
- Seizure or forfeiture of the motor vehicle
- Restitution for anyone who suffered property damage or personal injury if the convict caused an accident while intoxicated
Penalties for a third DUI conviction in Tennessee
- Between 120 days and 11 months, 29 days of prison time
- Revocation of the driver’s license for up to 6 years with the option of obtaining a restricted license
- A mandatory fine between $1,100 and $10,000
- Administrative and legal costs
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on the vehicle at the convict’s cost
- Vehicle forfeiture or seizure
- Restitution for any financial loss or personal injury
- Loss of motor vehicle insurance with the option of purchasing the high-risk SR-22 insurance
A subsequent DUI conviction is very serious and can result in costly penalties. If you are facing a second or third DUI charge, it is important that get adequate representation to help you navigate the uncertainty that comes with the complex Tennessee criminal justice system.