In Tennessee, law enforcement can charge defendants with one of several crimes after a victim dies. If the death was intentional, the prosecution typically responds aggressively. Possible charges for an intentional death include murder and homicide.
In some situations, death can occur accidentally. While defendants in such cases typically face less severe charges, like reckless homicide, they still need to protect themselves from conviction.
Recent death provides a look at reckless homicide
To further show the possible outcome of a reckless homicide charge, we turn to a recent incident. Two teens, one female, one male, are currently facing criminal charges after the accidental death of another teen.
Reportedly, the 17-year-old male victim was killed by gunshot inside a Memphis, Tennessee residence. The male defendant allegedly “delivered” a gun to the dwelling. The female allegedly fired the weapon, resulting in the victim’s accidental death.
Since neither defendant meant to kill the victim, the girl is currently facing a charge of reckless homicide, a Class D felony. If convicted, the court will likely deliver a sentence of two to 12 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Law enforcement charged the male as a juvenile in possession of a handgun, also a severe offense.
As you can see, law enforcement officers and prosecutors still take a harsh stance against another person’s death, even when it occurred accidentally. However, defendants of reckless homicide charges may be able to secure a bit more sympathy from a court. For example, the young age of the defendant may play a role in her sentence if convicted.
With solid legal guidance, those facing a charge of reckless homicide have an excellent chance of obtaining the most favorable outcome possible. Regardless of your situation, it is wise to learn as much as possible about any violent crime charges filed against you.