The world can be a scary place. Whether you are out alone or with your loved ones, it is important to know that you can protect yourself and those you care about if there is danger.
Carrying a firearm is also essential to enjoying the freedoms that come with the Second Amendment. Last year, Tennessee updated its laws regarding carrying a gun. Still, there is more to the rules than the newspaper headlines.
Here’s what you should know about the permitless carry law and what it means in Tennessee.
Who can carry without a permit?
The permitless carry law is fairly straightforward. Anyone 21 years or older can carry as long as they do not have prior felony convictions and follow any posted signs that prohibit firearms.
There is also an exception for those between 18 and 21 who are currently serving or were honorably discharged from the military.
Does the weapon need to be concealed?
Tennessee permitless carry laws allow those who meet the qualifications to carry a handgun, either open or concealed. How you choose to carry will depend on your comfort level and where you are going.
When do I need a permit?
There are still specific places in Tennessee where you must have a permit to carry a firearm. If you are going to a public park, greenway or nature trail, you may need either an enhanced or a concealed carry permit. Before you go to a new place, you should look at the rules for carrying a handgun.
Also, firearms are still prohibited on school grounds except for very specific purposes. Typically, they are only permitted by specific security personnel.
What about rifles?
People 18 years of age and older may carry a rifle or shotgun in the open (not concealed) as long as it is not loaded and there is no ammunition in the immediate vicinity of the person or the firearm.
Before you decide to carry a weapon in public, it is crucial to be familiar with the rules and laws to support carrying one safely.